My Top 5 Reads of 2016

Three is a good number. One of my favorite numbers. Originally, I wanted this post to be my top 3 reads of this year, but I’d read so many good books I wanted to talk about, it was impossible. So I chose five, instead. Still… trio sounds so much better than quint. Triple. Triumvirate. Ménage a trois.

But anyway, I digress. Here are my top five reads from this year:

5. Prince Lestat – Anne Rice

21412673I was so glad when Anne announced she would be doing another book for her Vampire Chronicles, which is home for me, having read and loved the majority of the series. Prince Lestat is a wonderful novel, written in that beautiful, descriptive prose Anne is famous for. I’d missed her vampires and crew, and I grew to love the new and unique characters she introduces. Everyone had great stories, and I admired the way in which she connects them over the novel’s course. The ending is magnificent, everything up until now comes full circle, and I’m very pleased with where they all ended up.

 

4. Blood Kiss – J.R. Ward

24903031 To use a popular K-Pop term, I’m “trash” for J.R. Ward’s BDB series. So I was ecstatic and slightly apprehensive when she announced her new BDB Legacy series. I was hesitant to love the new characters like I did the originals and the ones we’ve come to know over the course of BDB. But J.R. Ward definitely did not disappoint. This was a really refreshing read—and not only because she returned to just four POVs! The new trainees are hot, and I dare say I want more of them. I couldn’t help falling for Craeg and Paradise, rooting for them, while relating to them in ways. This was a really promising opening to what seems to be an exciting new series.

3. The Prince – Tiffany Reisz

themistress_bformat_final_front This. Book. Is. So. Damn. Good. Right up my alley with the dark, tragic, and taboo. I actually couldn’t wait to get my hands on this, not sure what to expect, and this delivered in so many ways. Tiffany is a master at what she does, and I’ve probably gushed about her Original Sinners series one time too many on Twitter, but for good reason. Soren and Kingsley’s time spent together as schoolboys in Maine was everything I didn’t know I needed. They were the real stars of the book. Their relationship would get so intense at times that you really did need those Wes and Nora breaks to give you time to recover. Someone called this novel “smart erotica” and I agree wholeheartedly. There were plenty of twists, kink, and plot that made you never want to put it down.

2. #GIRLBOSS – Sophia Amoruso

51n7fj1xll-_sx331_bo1204203200_ This is a very motivational sort-of biography, sort-of guide for the soul, written in a witty, clever, and stylish way. Sophia Amoruso, who is the founder and CEO of Nasty Gal, tells the story of how she made her way from dumpster-diving to running a multi-million dollar clothing business. She is such an inspiration to women of all ages. Dedicated, hardworking, committed, and full of amazing and practical advice for girls and women looking to become their own bosses and find their way. There are also interviews with other women who’ve found success as entrepreneurs or businesswomen. This book was actually recommended by Renee Young on her blog, who had it recommended to her. And after reading it, I was sure to recommend it to others, as well as subscribe to her GIRLBOSS podcast for that extra, attitude-filled kick in the butt to keep pushing if I want to become my own BOSS!

And finally, for my favorite read of the year *drumroll*…

1. The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho

the-alchemist-book-cover The Alchemist is easily the simplest, yet most profound book I’ve ever read. It reads like a simple tale about a shepherd boy traveling in search of treasure, but finding his sense of self, instead. Along the way, he meets some interesting people who help guide him to his Personal Legend—his destiny. In this story are some profound life lessons about living in the moment and following your dreams. Even though the book is short, I made myself savor it and put it down so I could meditate on what I’d just read. It’s really that moving, and so relatable. No matter what your age, we are all on our own journeys to find our personal legends and what they are. I think The Alchemist is a book that I will continue to revisit every year or so, especially when I ever feel lost in life.

So, these are my fave five reads of 2016. What do you think? Impressed with my amazing choices? What were some books you enjoyed this year? I’d love to hear from you guys.

Happy New Year’s Eve. Until next time,

Theophilia

One thought on “My Top 5 Reads of 2016

Leave a Reply

