Spotlight With Brina Brady

Today, I am happy to host the talented Brina Brady on my blog! She’s here to dish on the  amazing career she held before becoming an author, as well as the second book in her Irish Runaway Series, Master Cleary’s Boys, which sounds like your next favorite read.

Before we get to the interview, here’s a little bit more about the book.

untitled

Blurb:

Desperate to escape the clutches of an increasingly sadistic and abusive Dom, Kevin and Jack seize their opportunity to escape and runaway to Galway. They shave their heads and do their best to avoid being detected while searching for a new Dom who is prepared to take them on as a package deal. Their running leads them to Cleary’s Pub—a bar full of leather-clad Doms and subs, owned and run by Master Cleary…

Master Cameron Cleary was in need of a new sub—it had been far too long since he’d had a boy in his life. Each night as he ran his pub filled with leather-clad Doms, accompanied by their Subs, he became more aware of how solitary his life had become. That is, until two young cousins turned up one night looking for work, a place to stay, and more intriguingly a Dom who would take them both. Something about their recently shaved heads and skittish demeanor stirred his interest and protective nature. But did he want two subs, and was he prepared to deal with whatever trouble these boys were hiding?

***

TSC: Please tell us a little about yourself.

BB: I am married to my second husband Jared. I have three daughters, three granddaughters and one grandson. I taught high school for thirty years. As a teacher, I was credentialed to teach more than one subject and I did. I never was bored teaching.

I love working with teen boys and girls. The students I had were troubled and needed some direction and guidance. Most of them didn’t like who they were. It’s tough being young and feeling bad about yourself every day.  I also worked in a juvenile detention home plus a placement center, and a group home.

One facility had placement on Wednesdays, this meant some kids would be placed in a foster home. Many siblings and friends were split up and this caused for somber Wednesday. Of course, some were left behind and that was sad, too. Many tears were shed on Wednesday, so we had tissues on hand for them. I remember driving home in tears. It was very gratifying to be able to help them and sad when they left placement.

The Group home was a placement where you had six teenage boys to a house. I was in charge of everything. I drove a big blue van and took them to the beach, which they loved. We had group sessions to discuss their problems. They were abused teen boys.

TSC: That sounds heartbreaking, but seems like you had a fulfilling, commendable career. What made you choose to write in the MM genre?

BB: To be quite honest, three years ago I never heard of m/m fiction. When I retired from teaching, I read books about Polygamy, every book they wrote on the subject. One day, Amazon suggested that people who read this book read Lynn Kelling’s Whatever The Cost. This was my first introduction to m/m fiction.

I have always written novels, but never published them. I began reading m/m novels to the tune of 300 of them and decided I could write one. I knew what I wanted to read so why not write what I like?

TSC: I hear you, girl. What is the most taboo thing you’ve ever written?

BB: When I began writing, I had teens having sex, but I didn’t know it wasn’t allowed on Amazon.

TSC: How far have you gone in the name of research? (For example: Participated in a BDSM scene to get the details right; Traveled to a remote location; Reenacted scenes from your manuscript with a S/O).

BB: I traveled to Ireland and did some research but while I was there, I didn’t know I would be using my trip for research. I do deep online research. I interview and have friends who are Doms and subs. I was in a BDSM relationship for a short period of time, but I don’t do well taking orders.  I do reenact scenes in my head when I go to sleep. Sometimes, I even dream of the scenes.

TSC: What does your daily writing schedule look like? Do you plan when you write or do you write when the mood arises?

BB: My writing process begins with two characters and then I add more. I fill out a thorough character chart in my mind. I search for pictures of my characters and where they live. From this point, I begin writing and have my characters talk to each other. My first draft is dialogue with sparse settings and descriptions. For some reason, I like to focus on 3000 words at a time. I will work it for a week until the skeleton grows some flesh. During this process, I add more action and beats to the tags. The description is more detailed, sometimes too much then later needs cutting. Currently, I try to write each morning until I have 1500 words or more.

TSC: What is the best piece of writing advice you’ve ever received?

BB: Write for me first then others.

TSC: Yes all the way on that one. And finally, what can we expect from you in the future?

BB: I’m writing my tenth book, but it’s the fifth book in the Rent Me Series. I like writing contemporary erotic book with a twist of BDSM or domestic discipline. I may try writing one without any BDSM in the future.

TSC: Someone sounds busy! Good luck with all your future endeavors, Brina, and thank you for stopping by. Now, everyone, please enjoy an excerpt from Master Cleary’s Boys.

***

Excerpt: The loud crash of the door banging against the wall interrupted the horrific images of Abel running after him with his humongous knife. The noise blasting into his ears triggered him into holding his breath under the blanket, not moving an inch. Sir must be home and looking for his sorry ass.

“Jack,” Kevin shouted, pacing loudly through the room.

Jack remained silent for fear that Sir might be standing beside Kevin, or that their Dom may have sent Kevin to find him while Sir got ready for his caning in front of his bandit friends. Either way, he wasn’t going to move and give away his location. Please don’t open the closet door.

“I’m alone. Come out. Where are you?” Kevin opened the closet door. “What the fuck are you doing, hiding in here?” Kevin pulled the blanket off of Jack.

“I failed again.”

“Get your ass up. We’re leaving, now. Don’t argue,” Kevin ordered.

“What about Sir?” Jack asked, standing up.

“Sir is coming back for you with the others and we have to get the fuck out of here before they get you. Sir is pissed. Very pissed.”

“What about?” Jack’s hand trembled right along with his voice. Somehow, Sir must have heard of his failure and he was doomed to be serving all of Sir’s bandit friends.

“No more questions,” Kevin said. “Get your backpack.”

“I need to pack it.”

“I already did. Let’s go.”

Jack picked up his backpack and followed Kevin outside to his motorcycle. Apparently, Kevin had been planning this for some time. Last night, Sir had his free night with the boys from the Sugar Boys club in Limerick. At first, it had been one night a week and Sir had begun fucking his own boys less and less, and then Sir had turned his one free night per week into four. Of course, he chained them up in separate rooms when he had his free nights, so they couldn’t fuck each other. He had to be present for them to fuck or suck while under his command, otherwise they weren’t allowed to touch each other, or themselves. Their asses belonged to Sir and he could do what he wanted with them.

Master Cleary’s Boys is available worldwide from Amazon, Amazon UK, Amazon Ca, Amazon AU, Amazon FR, Amazon DE, Amazon ES, and Amazon IT. Just pick your country of choice and start reading!

***

Connect with Brina: Email Blog Facebook Twitter Pinterest

Thanks for stopping by. Until next time,

Theophilia

One thought on “Spotlight With Brina Brady

Leave a Reply

